Wednesday, February 4, 2009

// - Signing an Offer & Good News at Work!!

I'm really glad I didn't post last night. I was going to, but it would've been filled with whining and bitching. But today was a much better day!

We've found the house we want and were preparing to put an offer in. Well, our realtor noticed the house has been moved [it's a manufactured and it's kick ass, so spare me the trailer park, because it's soo far from it :P] Anyhoo, so since it's been moved twice, it'd be next to imposable to find someone to finance us. Plus, we'd need to put down $4,500 rather than $2,500. Shit. Then my friend got some bad news, so it was an overall bad evening. I came home and had 2 Lindt Lindor chocolate things and a glass of wine and went to bed.

This morning, I was at work and the owner came in and said "We all need to talk" meaning myself and the other two secretaries. Crap, I'm thinking here come the hour cuts. Nope! He's been wanting to open a vinyl siding warehouse [I work for a Seamless Steel Siding company but we get folks who need vinyl repaired sometimes] Anyways, so he's been talking about this and I've been wanting to ask who gets to run it because it'd be in the same complex, but a different office. So today he is talking about how he wants to hire someone to run it. I was like "Not to be rude at all, but could I maybe do it so I can get more hours?" He thought about it and said, "We'd need someone to call at night" [I do followup calls on prior appointments in the evening] and I said, yeah, I could do that and even take some down with me. Then one of them suggested a split shift so I'd work in both places. Guess who gets to man the new vinyl office. Ooh yeah. I am so excited!!!! This is going to be a lot of fun! I've been making spread sheets for local contractors. Boo Yeah! That made my week right there.

So while I'm elated about the warehouse, I'm still sad about the house. I love this house, I can see myself raising kids in it. So I called and left our realtor a message and he called back later with fantastic news. There is a guy in Nampa [which is 2 hours from here] who specializes in financing manufactured homes!!!! And you need to have at least a certain credit score, I do, and need to put the 5% down on it. I'm like, "We can't afford it." Never fear, *drum roll please* we can do the $7,500 First Time Home buyer Tax Credit!!! Which will leave us with an extra $3,000 for various expenses. And manufactures can be included with this credit!! AHHH!!! YAY!!!! We are going to sign on our offer tomorrow evening!! I am so so excited for this!!!

Sorry no wedding details, but I was about to burst if I didn't blog this, haha.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

// - Pictures!!! And a Dress, Veil & Invites!


^^^This are us hehe

Wow, I seriously have no clue where January went. Wow. So much has happened. Let's see here..

I got my dress ordered. Come to find out, dresses are made in China[?!] and it was ordered Jan 20 and it should be in Florida [where the company is] on May 1. And it'll arrive in Boise around May 7. Now, I'm no expert, but I'm getting married May 23, so talk about a time crunch. However, I'm not going to panic and I'm going to elect to get it overnighted from Florida to Boise so I can get it on and altered and all that happy jazz! Sweet! I got my veil too, I love it. It's a David's Bridal veil, but I bought it from a lady who had called off her wedding. It's beautiful!

The following weekend, we went to an Engaged Encounter. It's a requirement to have a Catholic wedding. You spend a weekend at a retreat and you get a notebook and are presented with various situations regarding yourself, values, beliefs, religion, parenting, sex, families and your fiancee. You don't share anything with the group or the leaders. It's just for you and your fiancee. You get from it what you put into it. Needless to say, I knew that my parent's had paid for it so I put more into it. There were some people there who did not want to be there and looked miserable. I wasn't keen on the idea, but I sucked it up and made the most of it. It was neat because probably 99.5% of the things we had talked about at one time or another. But it was nice to [wow, I can't believe I'm admitting this] get away from the Internet and for the most part, my cell phone. We lived through it and are still planing our wedding. I was telling people that if we broke up, I was blaming the Encounter. I was shocked at the amount of people living together already. For it being a Catholic event, I figured more people wouldn't be living together. Brett & I don't live together yet. Dr. Laura would be happy, ha ha. I'm actually planning on getting the address of the team leaders & the priest and inviting them to the wedding. They were really neat people.

We found our house. I love love love it. It reminds me of the house I grew up in and it reminds Brett of his Grandparents' house. We are going to put an offer on it. I'd set up to do that on Friday, but after thinking about it, I emailed him and asked if he could fax it to me and we'd sign it and submit it that way. I sure hope. I can honestly, truly see myself in this house forever. It just feels homey. I'm so excited. Keep your fingers crossed :)

I started addressing our invitation tonight. I'm excited to get them printed up and sign, sealed and delivered. I also ordered address labels from Vista Print which is a really neat site. And super cheap. I'm excited to see them. Not excited to see the postage bill however. Brett said he'd pay for it. I said, "Well, there goes the savings for a down payment on the house." HAHA!!

Well, I'm going to attempt to put photos on this.. We'll see. Diana, I'm tryin', I promise! And I promise I'll update this more this month!! OK, I think I got the uploading done. Although I've got a feeling there is an easier way to do it. Oh well, it's done!


Our bubble favors. They are so cool!


Our invitations. Yay for Martha Stewart!


One of our bubble wands.


A close-up of our tags on the bubbles.


My beautiful veil!

Friday, January 16, 2009

// - Cakes & Houses

Sorry for the lack of posts the past few days. I'm really not sure where this week went. Today was Brett's birthday, he turned 30. We went house looking, cake tasting & to dinner. Horray!

At a bridal fair, we'd gotten a free appraisal from Wells Fargo & I'd texted a friend who moved into a new home right after her wedding. Well, her husband is a Realtor now, so I've been talking with him and we found 2 houses we wanted to look at.

Come to find out, one of my co-workers currently lives in one we wanted to look at! It's a really neat house, and huge! It's a log cabin with a full basement and a shop/garage. Oh and they'd let us keep the hot tub & the stove. Sweet. It has a lot of great things to offer and is really neat looking. It also feels very homey and has 2 bedrooms upstairs & 2 downstairs as well as 1 restroom on each level.

Then we went to a brand new one and the first one wouldn't open, so we went next door, but that's okay because it was the one Brett had liked to begin with, ha. That was gorgeous! We loved everything, except for the carpet. We'd want a dark green, rather than a beige. Theory being it'd stay cleaner longer, hehe. But it has the tall ceilings & tile counter tops. Oh, and a wall begging us to hang a TV off it, haha.

After house looking, we picked up my Mom & went cake tasting. And we have our cake!! :D The only bad thing is since we designed it, we don't have a picture of it! But it's a 2 layer [I'm trying to keep it cheap], square cake. The top layer will be "crooked" compared to the bottom. And it's white with teal flowers with silver centers & black and teal "beads" around it. It's gonna rock! It's Lemon Poppyseed cake with lemon butter cream filling & cream cheese frosting. I can't wait to see it!

So after all of that, we went to dinner and discussed houses. We equally enjoyed them both and they both have good & bad things about that. We ended up deciding that we're going to try and go for the brand new home because over a course of 30 years, $3,000 isn't that much. So next week, we meet with Jake to discuss options & go from there. I just hope our credit is good enough. I've got the good credit, he has the good pay, so we should be ok. I've been praying to Grandpa to help us get in this home. What a perfect wedding gift, ya know?

Tomorrow I order my dress!! *squee* I'm going a little more prepared this time so hopefully we can get a picture of me with the dress, but not in it because it's way small. But it's soo beautiful!!

Diana asked for pictures, when I figure out how to do it and align them properly, I'll do that :P

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

// - How We Met & Got Engaged

I gotta do this slowly, or I'll overload not only you guys, but myself. Which reminds me.. HI JESSICA!!!! *waves* She left a comment on Facebook saying she is reading this, so I should be happy about it haha.

OK, this is the story of how we met..

I worked in Richfield & would email my friend who worked in the office there and whine how I wanted a boyfriend. She said try online. I said no way, there are scary people online, but I ended up joining match.com because Dr. Phil is a spokesman, I love Dr. Phil. Plus anything that Dr. Phil supports can't be all bad, right?

I was browsing profiles & came across Brett's. I had to sign up to email him but if I canceled within 3 days, it wouldn't charge my card. So what the heck. I signed up, emailed him and went shopping. I came back, got an email from him and got on MSN to chat with him. This was at 5:00 pm. We quit chatting on MSN at 1:30 am. He worked at 7:00 am haha. We agreed to meet at Starbucks inside Target. He'd given me his number and I told my Mom what I was doing.

We spent the day texting [it was a Thursday] He'd told me he was shy. He wasn't kidding. It was like interviewing him to get him to talk. After about 15 minutes of total silence [well not total but almost LOL] we walked around because he'd just moved here & needed sheets and stuff. He spent over $200.00 which he later told me was to impress me. I waited 10 minutes after our leaving & texted him and we text chatted for a week. I went over 3 times & ate dinner on the patio [I wasn't allowed in his house because my parents hadn't met him] and then my family & I were leaving for Oregon for a week. I knew I was not leaving until I kissed him. It was the most magical kiss of my life. I knew at that moment he was mine.

We left for Oregon & texted the whole time. I seriously felt like part of me was missing. I get horoscopes sent to my phone every morning and the one I got the morning we met said "The delay in your last relationship has put you in a place to meet someone special now." Boy was it right.

Isn't that romantical? hehe

Now, for our proposal story.

He asked! Well, he tried to ask and I ruined it LOL. Allow me to back up. Oh there are so many things I want to write, I hope I remember them all.

Excuse me a moment.

HE ASKED ME TO MARRY HIM!!! I AM ENGAGED TO BRETT & WE ARE HAVING A WEDDING!! AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, now that that's outta my system. haha.

I knew he'd gotten my ring and what it looked like, I just didn't know when or how I'd get it. I didn't go to work on Thursday because I felt so sick and he'd received the box in the mail & had sent me a picture of the box. I told him if he sent any more photos, I'd let my Mom open them just in case they were the ring.

We'd discussed him asking my Dad before hand and he did. In a text. hee hee. I'm going to sneak into a phone & type them out because they are so precious and made me teary eyed.

Brett: Butch, I got a favor to ask. I need something very special from you.
Dad: What's up?
Brett: I need to ask for your daughter's hand.
Dad: As long as you are both ready, I would be proud to see you marry my little girl! All I ask if that you take care of her. She is & always will be my little girl.
*insert my sniffling here*
Brett: Thank you, I will do my best to make her happy.
Dad: I know you will and I could not be happier to see her with you!! You are a good man Brett.
Brett: *sent a picture of the ring*
Dad: Yes. You have mine & Julie's best wishes. The ring looks very nice.

Wow. So I read those Friday afternoon. Let me back up again.

Thursday night, when all of these messages were sent, I'd told Brett I feel like we're eloping because I knew so much, yet I didn't know when or how I'd get it. I went to bed and then woke up to some interesting texts.

Brett: North or South?
Me: Umm, south.
Brett: Indoors or out.Me: Out.
Brett: Round or flat?
Me: What the hell kind of question is that?? Flat.

OK, so I'm totally confused at this point. I went to get my nails done & my Mom & I went to lunch. I sit down to lunch and take a bite and have this awful pain shoot through my jaw. I ran my tongue over my jaw and then my finger, thinking it was like a piece of food or gum stuck on it. I broke an entire chunk off my tooth. My blood ran cold and I went to the bathroom to verify it. Yep, it's gone. I'm physically sick and want to throw up. My Mom managed to get me in with her dentist as mine doesn't work on Fridays. I tell Brett and he said "Shit." I promised him that no matter what, I would not miss what he'd planned for us. I get into the Dentist & they place some temporarily "packing" on the tooth to patch it up. Great. At least it's pink. haha. It's funny now, yesterday, not so much.

Anyways, so I get it done, pay and am on my way. I go get my check & pass Brett on the road. I got to his house and he greeted me outside and we left in his car. My nose is going ballistic at this point & I'm going through Kleenex like nobody's business. We stop at my house, I get a jacked & some more Kleenex and my camera. Just in case.

We head to the mountains and before we'd gone 10 miles, my Kleenex was gone. We stopped at the gas station and I got some allergy pills & Kleenex and hoped that I wouldn't go through all 65 of them before the night was over. We get back on the road and almost instantly, the medicine kicked in and all was well.

We head to where my family normally goes, but there are no grills. We head back down the mountain, after I took some photos and Brett hands me his phone & I read the messages between him & my dad. We stop at a camp site and unload everything.

We're standing by a little creek and he is all fidgety with his pocket. I didn't think much of it and we head back to the grill and he said he was going to go potty in the bushes. I tell him he is out of his mind as I can see the road, but whatever. haha. He'd gotten me a ring on the coast at Claire's and the poor thing is missing 3 diamonds [aka: glass pieces] and is starting to tarnish. I wear it on my right ring finger and he is holding my hand, commenting on how it's shiny & nice and whips out my ring, and gets on one knee. I blurt out "YES!!!" before he even gets a chance to ask. He puts it on my finger and we hug and kiss and hug some more.

I totally blew it. He didn't even get to ask and I blurted out YES!! haha. It was perfect, absolutely perfect. Afterwards, he pulls out 2 champagne glasses & a bottle of champagne and we toast to us and start to cook. We took a little walk and headed back and the fire was finally taking off, so we got it started and ate. We had burgers [the flat he'd asked about] and cottage cheese and champagne. It was truly perfect.

We packed up and headed back and I said I wanted to go see my Grandpa first. So we stopped in and it, oh it was so sweet. Grandpa had seen my fakey from Oregon and thought it was a real engagement ring. So we showed him my real one. He said he was very honored that we stopped to see him first [he is in a nursing home for therapy and doing excellent with it] and then we headed home. My Mom had sent a text telling me not to tell my Grandma or Aunt first and I was like "OH SHIT!!" cuz I'd shown Grandpa, but she said that was ok and she was glad I did, since he isn't at home. Whew. haha. We show my parents and siblings and Elexa thought it was a joke. Little twit. Eugene is all excited and so is Elexa although I'm still trying to convince her at 13 she is to old to be a flower girl. But anyways.

Daria [my Aunt] comes over and gets all excited, so I called Mam [my Grandmother] and was like, "Trust me, you'll wanna come over." And she finally does. I show her and she's on the top step with me. She turns around, goes over a pop can and hugs Brett first. I would've given anything to of had a camera to see the look on my face when she bypassed me for Brett. haha.

My Dad is already planning the guest list & I've made Eugene a bouncer. My Mom got a wedding planning book and I got a magazine. We were asked a lot what our date is and we finally picked one. While looking at a calendar at Barnes & Noble. Saturday May 23, 2009.
Emily Hill. Wow, that's the first time I've written it out. *does a dance*

I'll do wedding party stuff tomorrow, I have to go to bed, early morning doctor appointment. Oh goody. Hopefully they can figure out why I've been covered in a rash for a week..*crosses fingers*

Monday, January 12, 2009

// - Introducing the Colson-Hill Wedding Party!!

Hi again!!!

I told Brett [which it just dawned on me, I never introduced ourselves, next paragraph please] that I made a blog. He said "On MySpace?" I said no, a real blog. He was impressed. haha.

OK, soo, I'm Emily & I'm 24. I work as a secretary for a siding company in town. I really love my job and my co-workers are the best. We all get along really well. It's a laid back office and about half of my day is spent socializing with them. The other half is spent working and occasionally hanging out with one of the owners' grand kids. They are the cutest kids ever! Anyways, so I'm 24 and am so excited to be getting married. Brett's family is great and that's awesome because I'd hate to have those demon in laws I've heard about LOL. I keep saying as long as my Dad and his Mom don't get to talking about politics, we'll be in good form. I love tattoos, I currently have 4 of them and Brett & I are getting our wedding date in binary sometime before the wedding. Which could prove interesting because my tattoo artist moved to Wyoming, but I'm sure we'll find one soon.. I hope. Anyways, I have the Chinese symbol for "Consequences" on my right wrist, 9 stars on my left arm [everyone has a "regret tattoo, that's mine], a Koi on my right foot because the past summer my Aunt was fish sitting and our gold fish died and she flushed him, so it's his memorial and I have a dove with my Grandfathers signature on my right ankle. I always said I'd never get a mans name tattooed on me, but I love and miss my Grandfather more than I can ever express, so I made an exception. And Brett is cool with it too, he paid for half of it :) I love to text message and have a Dare phone from Verizon. It's the coolest thing ever. I'd be lost without it, no doubt about it. OH!! And I am a huge World of Warcraft addict!!

Enough about me, lets talk about Brett. He is going to be 30 on the 16th of this month and graduated from Boise State in 2005 with a degree in computer networking. He moved to this area in May to work for Dell computers. He worked in Technical Support for them. Let me back up... Brett is thee quietest person I've ever known. When we first met, it was literally like interviewing him for him to talk to me. So you can imagine why I was so surprised when I found out he did Tech Support via a phone. Needless to say, in 2008 he finally gave up and switched companies. Dell was in the midst of layoffs, so he got out while he could. I used to work for a whey protein company and am still good friends with a few people. My friends husband was able to get Brett and interview and he was hired on the spot. He is a packager, which means he bags the protein powder in 50 pound bags and stacks it [oooh, strong hehe] and gets to drive a Fork Lift, which makes me jealous. In mid '08 he started to train for other various positions in the plant, so hopefully if a job comes open, he can get promoted into that. He enjoys his job and still loves working on computers, in the privacy of his apartment without having to talk to anyone. For the record, he talks to me all the time. Of course for the first 2 weeks, it was either in text message or 1-2 word answers. Now he doesn't shut up hehe. I mentioned I'm a huge WOW addict, Brett got me hooked. He saw the South Park episode and started to play. I thought it was the dumbest thing in the world. Now I play about 10-12 hours a week on it. I'm such a geek! When we have kids, excuse me, one kid, he [I've got high expectations here] better play WOW with us haha.

I'd planned on using tonight's blog to tell you about how we met & got engaged, but since I didn't properly introduce us last night, it'll have to wait for tomorrow! Until then, 130 days to go!!! :D

Sunday, January 11, 2009

// - Test Test HaHa

Hi! I'm so excited about this blog! I've seen some really awesome wedding blogs out there and decided to finally make my own.

I'm marrying my best friend on May 23, 2009 and I can't wait. That day can not come soon enough, although everyone says it'll be here before I know it. I don't think that it'll really hit me until about April. I feel like I'm "on track" with everything though.

We have already sent out our Save the Dates, have a guest list and have the invitations bought [but not printed yet, although I think we should get a move on, I've got a lot of addressing to do], and next Saturday we are ordering my dress. Horray! I don't have bridesmaid dresses yet, but I do have some ideas on what I'd like. There are some really cute ones and some really scary ones out there!! My friend Bev is my Maid of Honor and my sister and 2 other friends are the bridesmaids. I'm really excited. I'll post pictures of my dress and ring along with my proposal store later.

For now, I'll leave you with our ticker!

Daisypath Wedding Ticker